top of page
  • Writer's pictureSCHSHL

2021-2022 League Awards Announced

Updated: Jul 6, 2022

All Star Teams:

1st Team

#3 - Jacob Felmeden, Forward, Kalamazoo United

#3 - Ryan Jaros, Forward, Portage Muskies

#14 - Lucas McKeeby, Forward, Mattawan

#7 - Beckett Saline, Forward, Portage Muskies

#13 - Kaleb Kruzich, Defense, Mattawan

#4 - Andrew Vanderleun, Defense, Kalamazoo United

#35 - Chris Diamondidis, Goalies, Portage Muskies

2nd Team

#7 - Carson Byers, Forward, Mattawan

#15 - Aiden Crowley - Forward, Kalamazoo Eagles

#12 - Ethan Hogarth, Forward, Mattawan

#6 - Tobyn Wietfeldt, Forward, Portage Muskies

#2 - Filip Hendl, Defense, Portage Muskies

#4 - Braden Mayo, Defense, Kalamazoo Eagles

#00 - Ander Ciesielski, Goalie, Mattawan

All Rookie Team

#7 - Henri Jarvenpaa, Forward, Kalamazoo United

#5 - Carson Mattern, Forward, Mattawan

#9 - Cayden Stasienko, Forward, Portage Muskies

#42 - Brennan Ward, Forward, Kalamazoo Eagles

#6 - Lucas Kuhnert, Defense, Kalamazoo United

#21 - Gavin McKeeby, Defense, Mattawan

#1 - Owen Anderson, Goalie, Kalamazoo Eagles

Grant Smith – Sportsmanship – Braden Mayo, Kalamazoo Eagles

Presented by the Kalamazoo Ice Hockey Officials Association to the player who best exhibits the combination of hockey talents and sportsmanship, both on and off the ice.

Matthew S. VanderSalm Memorial Scholarship - Cameron Strunk - Kalamazoo United The Matthew S. VanderSalm Memorial Scholarship Fund was first given at the conclusion of the 1989-90 season. The award is named after a 1988 graduate of Gull Lake High School and an excellent 3-year defenseman for the Kalamazoo Eagles who was tragically killed in 1989, a victim of a drunk driver. His parents directed that a scholarship fund be established in his memory to be awarded to a senior defenseman who has been accepted to a two or four year college.

Dr. Edwards – Referee Scholarship – Brendan Loukes, Kalamazoo Eagles

Presented by the Referee-In-Chief of the Kalamazoo Ice Hockey Officials Association to the player based upon Grad Point Average, playing ability and sportsmanship.

Wings West Unsung Hero – Braden Mayo, Kalamazoo Eagles

Scholarship presented to Senior player whose efforts and accomplishments do not necessary show up on the score sheet, but is the type of player that everyone wants on their line and team.

Jimmy Arnold Courage – Andrew Vanderleun, Kalamazoo United

Presented to the player who has persevered through an adverse situation on or off the ice, injury, or showed tremendous amounts of courage.

Rookie of the Year – Owen Anderson - Kalamazoo Eagles

Cayden Stasienko - Portage Muskies

League MVP – Ryan Jaros, Portage Muskies

Goalie of the Year – Chris Diamondidis, Portage Muskies

Jim Groetsema – Spring Waltke & Darci Stevens

Coach of The Year – Chris Dienes, Mattawan Wildcats

70 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page