top of page

2019-2020 South Division Awards

Recognizing excellence on and off the ice is a proud tradition in hockey. The league board, coaches, players and officials have all played an important role in the success of this league and of high school hockey in this area.

The South Division, formerly the SouthWest Michigan High School Hockey League, had a rich tradition of league awards and scholarships which will carry on in the new league as South Division awards.

This year's award winners were announced after the SCHSHL Championship Game on Feb 23.

Below are the South Division awards for the 2019-20 season:

​Art Massias Cup – Mattawan

MVP - Cam Agnew - Mattawan

Goaltender of the Year - Brendan Pellerito (Mattawan)

Rookie of the Year – James Onderlinde (Kalamazoo Eagles/Gull Lake)

Players Choice – Parker Remelius (Kalamazoo United/Loy Norrix)

Grant Smith Memorial Trophy – Jonathan Slack (Portage Northern)

Doc Ed Edwards Referee-in-Chief Scholarship – Liam Baal (Mattawan)

Matthew VanderSalm Memorial Scholarship – Will Anderson (Portage Central)

Wings West Unsung Hero – Aiden McKeeby (Mattawan)

Jimmy Arnold Courage Award – Bryan Gracey (Portage Central)
Jim Groestsema Adult Contribution Award – Todd Hufford (Portage Central)

South Division All Star Teams

G- Brendan Pellerito (Mattawan)
D- Conner Greger (Kalamazoo Eagles/Pennfield)
D- Justin Hayward (Portage Central)
F- Blake Sorge (Portage Northern)
F- Hunter Maschke (Portage Central)
F- Cam Agnew (Mattawan)

G- Parker Remelius (Kalamazoo United/Loy Norrix)
D- Joe Petersen (Mattawan)
D- Will Anderson (Portage Central)
F- Alex Johnson (Kalamazoo Eagles/Plainwell)
F- Trent Stoner (Kalamazoo Eagles/Gull Lake)
F- Jason Moreau (Mattawan)

Honorable Mention
G- Huston Born (Kalamazoo Eagles/Plainwell)
D- Nolan McCarthy (Portage Northern)
D- Tyler Wressel (Kalamazoo Eagles/Paw Paw)
F- Carson Byers (Mattawan)
F- James Onderlinde (Kalamazoo Eagles/Gull Lake)
F- Jimmy Lindstrom (Kalamazoo Eagles/Parchment)

bottom of page